Sydney, New South Wales

Population: 3,455,110 *

Latitude: -33.867

Longitude: 151.207

Dialing Code: 02 (+61 2 from overseas)

Time Zone: AEST - Australian Eastern Standard Time (UTC+10), AEDT - Australian Eastern Daylight Time (UTC+11)

Current Time: 25/07/2024 06:06:18 am

* Source for population data: 2001 census figures

Sydney, the captial of New South Wales and the largest corporate and financial centre in the country is situated on the south-east coast of Australia. The first Euorpean colony in Australia, Sydney was established in 1788 by Arthur Phillip who led the First Fleet from the United Kingdom.

Housing the largest natural harbour in the world, the city is known around the world for it's iconic Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House.

Major industries in Sydney include property services, retail, tourism and manufacturing. There are six universities in the city: The University of Sydney, Macquarie University, The University of Technology, The University of New South Wales, The Australian Catholic University and The University of Western Sydney.

Sydney is home to the Australian Rugby League and to no less than 8 of the national teams. Aussie Rules Football is also a popular sport and the local Sydney Swans are a successful team in the national league. The city also played host to the Olympic Games in 2000.

Hotels in Sydney

Other Urban Centres in New South Wales

List of Urban Centres throughout Australia

Home page