Urban Centres in Tasmania


Hobart is Australia's second oldest city and the state capital of Tasmania. Originally founded in 1804 as a penal colony it is now a thriving metropolis and port in the south east of the island of Tasmania.
more info


The second largest city in Tasmania (after the state capital Hobart), Launceston is located in the north-east of Tasmania at the meeting point of three rivers: the North Esk, the South Esk, and the Tamar. Launceston was settled in 1804 and named after Launceston in Cornwall, United Kingdom.
more info

Home page